top of page
Search
  • Caylah Williams

How to create a gorgeous home office

With most people now working from home, it is important to create a space that helps you work but feels comfortable for you too.

Working at a home office as a designer

If you have recently began working from home and are beginning to realise that working from the dining table, breakfast bar or couch just isn't cutting it anymore, you're in the right place!


Working from an office is straight forward. You just sit down, turn on your computer and begin working. But working from home has it's own challenges; the fridge is in easy walking distance and your children or fur children may be demanding your attention every 5 minutes.


But I have a solution for you.

Creating an inspiring office space is key for creativity, motivation and a space you love it be in.

You don't need a lot to have the best home office. You don't even need a dedicated room; if you can find a corner in your home (preferably facing or near a window) this will be perfect.


Start with a comfortable chair.

Borrowing a chair from the dining table will not be comfortable in a weeks time. Dining table chairs are designed for you to sit on them for an hour or 2 at a time. You might notice that if you sit on a dining table chair for a few hours for coffee that when you stand up it doesn't quite feel right. That isn't normal. I would suggest getting a dedicated office chair with some kind of lumbar support. As a designer who spends a lot of time at their computer, I have found this is key. Officeworks has some great options or you can consider shopping online if you ae looking from something a little more comfortable.


Then, make sure your desk is large enough

A desk that is too deep will mean that the back half behind your computer will get dusty and things will get lost. A desk that is too wide will make a space for you to dump all of your items and paperwork...which will also get lost. A desk that is around 50 centimeters to 60 centimeters deep is great but the width (or length) is up to you. I prefer something a bit longer because I like to spread out. If you like to keep things simple then a desk about 1 meter wide will work. IKEA has an option for you to mix and match tables with different legs; this is a great option if you love the length of one table but the legs of another. This is all personal preference but something I can help you with.


Lastly, add in your favourite or inspiring items.

On the topic of personal preference you should add in some personal or inspiring items at your desk. After all, you will be spending a lot of time here so it should be a place you want to spend time at. I keep a candle, my house plants and some inspiring quotes at my desk. They give me something to look at when I need a rest and I get excited to see my plants when I work from home. Just be careful to not add too many items as that will take away from creating a productive space, just do what feels comfortable to you.


Lots of storage will also help with life admin. Keeping your bills in one draw, receipts in another and stationary in another will help you stay organized without going overboard.


If you have any questions hit me up! If you want to know why I love sloths, feel free to join my mailing list for fun facts and more interior design tips and tricks (no spam I promise. I hate spam).



29 views
bottom of page